Matthews Vertix - Review

wildernessmaster

Lil-Rokslider
Last year I bought a Matthews Vertix. I am new to bow hunting, last year was my 3rd year and previously I had used a Diamond SB Deploy (significantly upgraded) and a Mission Ballistic 2.0. Wanting to upgrade to a bit faster, flagship bow, I chose the Vertix.

A year later, after putting about 100 arrows through it (I know not a whole lot) over the summer, I wanted to write a quick review for those folks out here on Rokslide... That said, based on some reading here probably a controversial review.

I can quickly sum up my experience and review with this... I just sold the bow on Ebay and shipped it out yesterday.

For those Matthews fan boys (or gals), before you get your panties (boxers) in a wad, let me say my peace and observations on it.

Matthews makes great gear. I loved my Mission (although it has been sold too - but mainly because I am bow heavy). The Vertix just wasn't for me and what I am looking for in a bow.

Here are some reasons why...
1. Matthews can be a real PITA to change cables on... I found this out when I needed to restring my Mission. The fact you have to completely remove axles/cams to put on new cables - in this day and age seems ridiculous. I know there is awesome engineering reason for this, but as a consumer for my needs, it just doesn't work.
2. The bow at anchor was un-freaking-forgiving... I mean the slightest flinch of any move settling into my anchor and it wants to jerk the string off my face. I have owned 7 bows now, and I know some of them do that, but this one did it very radically. And yes, I locked my back in like I should. I pretty much tried everything and I guess my body type or shooting style just did not "mind meld" with the needs of this bow.