Meat Shelves..... like or dislike?

Wondering what your opinions are on the meat shelves built into packs versus meat in the bag/pack?

Kinda like the shelves on the Kifaru bags( mag 22,44, reckoning, Stryker).

thanks

4ester

WKR
Prefer a shelf.

Last thing I want to do is stick bloody meat against all my backpacking gear. Some will say that they put it in a plastic bag, but that’s a terrible idea unless the meat is cool. At least with the shelf the blood can drain and continue to cool.

Plus you can use the frame individually for training or quick meat recovery without the bag.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Poser

WKR
A meat shelf is great for straight heavy hauling and I’ve been using one exclusively for the last 5 years. You can stabilize ultra heavy loads exactly as needed and you can almost always fit more on there and not limited by the size of the bag.

Downsides:

-if you are doing a combination of meat hauling and carrying a bag with camping gear, especially with a rifle strapped to the bag, it is a compromise both ways with your bag weight way back behind the meat, limiting the total weight you can carry do to the inefficiency of weight so far from your center of gravity.

-if you need to carry some extra gear for a long pack out, say, rain gear + puffy + mid layer+ food + first aid kit + bladder etc, you end up with more of a hobo aesthetic with loose stuff hanging off your pack. That kind of annoys me.

d97477a3c9ca6baf7a9ddb934554fb4c.jpg

Tradchef

WKR
I’ve done both ways and prefer packing meat in the bag. I use a reckoning for that and I also use a cargo panel and guide lid for quick hunts and it’s a solid option as well.

ljalberta

WKR