Mid-Level Spotting Scope Review

Ram94

WKR
I recently had the opportunity to compare a few different spotting scopes side by side and figured I would share my thoughts.

I had been using the 20-60x80mm Vortex Viper for the past 4 years and got by okay with it but was struggling with its size and weight in the pack so decided to go for a smaller 65mm scope. I had read nothing but good reviews about the Athlon Ares 15-45x65mm and had seen it compared to the Vortex Razor many times. When they went on sale, I went for it and ordered one up. A friend of mine was generous enough to lend me his 65mm Gen1 Razor to compare so that I could see for myself. If the Athlon didn’t stack up, I would return it and look for a used Razor. A couple days later, a coworker decided to also lend me his Pentax 65edii with a fixed 28x eyepiece to add to the mix.

Later that week I received the Athlon and was a bit taken back at the compact size. It really looks more like a 50mm than a 65mm but if it can hang, then that’s a great feature. I got out yesterday and put them to the test.

Really, the 65mm Pentax, 65mm Razor and 65mm Athlon beat out the 80mm Viper pretty easily. I set up on a hill off the side of the highway and was looking at two trucks parked 950 yards away. With the Viper, I couldn’t read the license plates through any of the zoom range. I really could barely make out that there was letters and numbers there. The Pentax, was the nicest image but I was not quite able to read the plates either. (maybe with a higher mag fixed eyepiece or zoom eyepiece, but this is what I had to compare) The Razor and Athlon I could read the license plates from about 30x to 45x and there was not a noticeable difference between them. A bit better eye relief on the Razor but wider picture on the Athlon. To my eyes, it was too close to call one better than the other.