Modding pack sewing technique

Hey guys, I have a FILBE pack on a MR NICE frame that I want/need to modify just a little. Mainly moving and adding some straps for compression and a couple of attach point buckles.
I don’t THINK I need a sewing machine for this stuff and I don’t necessarily want to invest in that for a one or two time use.
What hand stitch technique would be best to sew the web straps onto the pack?
What kind of thread should I use as well?
Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

go_deep

WKR
I'm no expert here, but I just went to hobby lobby and told a gal there what exactly I wanted to do. She pointed out the needles and thread i needed and I bought them. I've made Gun bearers with webbing and a couple other random things.
Big needles, heavy thread.

nodakian

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I can’t help with technique as I strictly use a machine, but at a minimum you’ll want size 69 nylon or polyester thread. If you’re hand stitching, you could move up to size 92. Just depends on how many stitches you want to make.

OP
Haulinbass02
This is my dilemma because I know it needs to be strong since the compression straps will be used to help utilize the shelf on the pack to carry gun/meat etc. The compression straps will be holding the pack to the frame. So heavier thread should be better and proper sewing pattern to make it hold.

nodakian

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
This is my dilemma because I know it needs to be strong since the compression straps will be used to help utilize the shelf on the pack to carry gun/meat etc. The compression straps will be holding the pack to the frame. So heavier thread should be better and proper sewing pattern to make it hold.

Do you have an upholsterer within reasonable distance? They would have a suitable machine and would probably help you for cheap.

peterk123

WKR