Montana Fall bear hunt

Trees91

WKR
Anyone have experience rifle hunting Montana black bear in the fall? I would rather do spring but that’s a really busy time for my hunting crews work schedule. A lot of glassing and covering ground I would assume? Where’s a good place to go, any pointers would be awesome.

hunt406

FNG
I'm not an expert but we have found some up still at higher elevations where they've been spending the summers. Usually eating the remnants of the berry patches. The huckleberries are way past their prime and dried up at that point but the bears still seem to like hitting them.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

OP
Trees91

Trees91

WKR
My younger brother hunted a couple years ago near Seely Lake, it was a spring hunt. First time ever being out there and the four of them did manage to find a couple and did kill one. Would that area be worth a shot for a fall hunt? Is the best tactic get up high and glass?

skierhs

WKR
My younger brother hunted a couple years ago near Seely Lake, it was a spring hunt. First time ever being out there and the four of them did manage to find a couple and did kill one. Would that area be worth a shot for a fall hunt? Is the best tactic get up high and glass?
It’s possible to do but in the last few years the brown bears have seam to hit that population hard. Glassing will be your golden ticket but that country isn’t the most conducive. I’d look more at north of flathead where you can get into some chutes easier where berries are and that are actually glassable.

Selway

FNG
Yep. I grew up in Seeley and the blackie hunting has gotten pretty abysmal. Last year we glassed 3 Grizzlies for every black bear. When they open a griz season the upper clearwater will be a tag holder's paradise.

OP
Trees91

Trees91

WKR
When you say Flathead are you saying the county or somewhere more particular? I don’t want all your secrets just a little direction where to start looking haha.