Montana HD 270 rifle elk hunt

Hey, folks

When applying for resident tags this spring my wife had put in for them on her own as I am out of country right now (deployed), she chose 270 as her #1 for elk and of course got it, anyone happen to have any info on the unit they would be willing to share?

I know it is mostly weather dependent and a mainly migratory unit with some resident elk. I am collecting all the intel I can before calling biologists, wardens, etc. this hunt will be very special to her as it will be more than less my coming home “get away” with her and a chance at her first bull.

Any Input on the unit, elk habits, numbers, suggestions are very very much appreciated. Thank you.

Skyhigh

Lil-Rokslider
I have no experience in the unit on foot, but have done a fair amount of research for it (mostly related to shed hunting) because I will be moving to the Bitterroot in a few months. That being said, I was able to find an elk study that deals with units 250, 270, and 334. It may be helpful to you.

Here are some maps from it:

1598353323684.png

1598353352350.png

Even though the data is old, with how habitual most ungulates are, I would imagine the same areas are probably still used. Also, the data is most likely from cow elk because that is usually what is collared and studied, but at least it might be a starting point for you.

Link to the study:

Last edited:
OP
NWMT_MountainBum
I have no experience in the unit on foot, but have done a fair amount of research for it (mostly related to shed hunting) because I will be moving to the Bitterroot in a few months. That being said, I was able to find an elk study that deals with units 250, 270, and 334. It may be helpful to you.

Here are some maps from it:

View attachment 209846

View attachment 209847