Montana Spring Bear: 15x Binos vs. 15-45X65mm Spotting Scope with 10x42 bino combo. Whats better?

MAXLWIE

FNG
Hi all,

moved to Montana 6 months ago and going on my first spring bear hunt. Looking for a new Optics set up for out West. I am thinking about getting 15x binos instead of the 15-45X65mm Spotting Scope / 10x42 bino combo many people run. Does anyone have experience with 15x binos for mountain spring bear hunting? I like the idea of being able to glass longer with less strain. Spotting scopes seem to be a bit harder on the eyes for prolonged glassing. I also feel like i will be able to scan more landscape with the binos. I hear black bears are hard to ID but i am not really picky about what kind of bear i shoot since this is my first year. It just needs to be legal. What are some benefits and downsides to each set up? Also, how bad is it to carry a 15x around your next in the mountains vs a 10x42 and the spotter in the backpack? For spotters I have been looking at the Mavens or Athlons. Thanks for the help!

Werty

WKR
Its all a personal preference, I personally like a spotter and binoculars. Binos for just looking, spotter to zero in on the animal. Plus if one is broken or lost, you have a back up.

TL406

Lil-Rokslider
15s around your neck is a non-starter. I run 8s on my chest and 18s off a tripod but they ride around in my backpack. I think the 18s are fine for bear, I used them all last spring and didn’t feel “under glassed”.

Use the search tool for other forum threads talking about big binos versus spotters and glassing bears in general, there’s a ton of content already on here.

Honyock

WKR
If you're looking for a spotter, the Athlon Ares UHD 65 is hard to beat for the money. It's not alpha glass but it definitely punches above their weight class. Call Doug at Cameraland.

Hi all,