Motorcycle/quad?

aorams

Lil-Rokslider
Hey there forum.

Im considering some sort of motorized equipment to open up some hunting areas I’d like to explore. If I buy something it has to be simple, durable and fit in the bed of a Toyota Tundra (6.5’). There are some areas that I want to hunt where a network of OHV trails accesses miles of roadless areas, so the plan would be to drive whatever I get to the end of the trail and hike in from there. Anyone do anything like this and have any advice for someone getting started? I have zero experience with off road equipment like this but have ridden street motorcycles in a past life.

I'm not a quad guy nor a motorcycle guy, but I would think that operating a motorcycle in rough tereain, with a rifle or bow and a packframe or hunting daypack, wouldn't be the easiest thing to do.

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member
Done it for years and yes it is dangerous especially riding in the dark on sketchy singletrack….pucker factor very high🤣…recommend lots of practice and bike that can toe tap with and geared low end to crawl if needed….quad easy but anyone can do it so lots more competition..

fmyth

WKR
That depends on what state and season. For ID archery and early rifle I'd lean towards a motorcycle like the Yamaha TW200 (fat tire). For CO,AZ, WY & MT and any hunts later than archery where snow may be present I'd choose an ATV. If you are accident prone perhaps a Honda Pioneer 500 UTV. Should still fit in the bed of your truck and be much safer if you hunt alone. I have 2 friends that are very experienced ATV riders have near death accidents riding atv's hunting/ranching.

chizelhead

Lil-Rokslider
^^ What he said. When contemplating the same thing, I was going down the route of a Yamaha TW200 with a trailer. My setup was for a narrow trail otherwise, I would go with a quad for the stability, power, and ability to carry more.