Mountain Bike recommendation

I'd like to get more into mountain biking & looking for recommendations on a good mid level sub $1,000 bike.
I know there's hundreds of options but I'm just looking for good quality & simple features.
Probably use once / week on local mid level trails, nothing crazy.
Open to getting a used one also.
Thanks in advance!

I just purchased a Trek Roscoe 7 hardtail. Really nice bike for around 1200. Biggest issue will be finding one in stock.

kickemall

WKR
Marin Bolinas Ridge 1 or 2 is one that comes to mind. Just a little over half your budget and will do everything and more than you described. Right now some bikes are a little hard to find though.

alaskanparret

Lil-Rokslider
Buy used. Bikes can be found all over for good deals. I’m no expert at biking, hectic I haven’t even gone this summer.

However! I bought a 2014 trek fuel ex8 in 2014 for $900..in 2014 it was top of the line nice nice bike. To me in 2018...it was still crazy good and better than I can usually push it. But instead of paying $3200 for a brand new bike, I bought a bike that is still far better than any of the bikes I’d owned for far far less than new.

Food for thought.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Yep most definitely go used. MTBs don’t hold their value like some of the high dollar items you see on these forums, so consequently you will find used options that originally cost $2,500-$3,500 at the $1,000 price point.

Unless you are certain you need full suspension, I would recommend looking at a 27.5+ AM hardtail with ~130-140mm travel.

Edit to add: quick search revealed this nice 2015 $3,250 MSRP bike: https://www.pinkbike.com/buysell/2671195/

Last edited:

Lawnboi

WKR
Where are you located? What type of riding?

Unfortunately with a 1k budget your looking at a hard tail. Also unfortunate, 1k doesn’t get you a mid level bike, more along the lines of entry level.