Mountain Turkeys Questions

I don't have access to private lands. I could go knocking on doors but I really like the challenge of public land hunting. Good training for big game season anyhow.

I found a spot last year with turkey sign and I saw several hens. Heading there this week. Besides glassing sunny slopes, listening for gobbles, looking for sign, how often do you location call when you're simply trying to find birds or get a response? Every 5-10 minutes? New drainage? Calling in the morning mostly or t/o the day as well?

I'm very new to turkey hunting. One trip last year, no bird, but I got the bug. Ha!! I believe I saw Merriam's in the woods last year.

This mountain area has agriculture fields in the flats (3500 feet). The zone I'm working is about 4,000 feet and I plan on staying closer to the agriculture fields. If I hike up the mountain, just to paint a picture, the ridges are about 7,000 feet. At the top there is a fairly large flat rolling area with stable elevation throughout. Not sure how high I can expect to find birds. Mostly below snow line I'm assuming.

I can make 6 trips up to this area over the next 5 weeks. I have some time to sort it out.

Any tips for this type of turkey hunting are welcome!

Thanks in advance.

What works for me:

If you find a bird on the roost, they generally (75% of the time) fly down into the side of the hill. Though I have also had them pitch off the side of a hill down to a meadow/field.

If no luck first thing, start boot stomping. Call every hundred yards are so. Cutting and location call. Depending on the area a crow call works great too.

Best time to hunt birds in my opinion is between 11am-1pm. I love getting them off the roost too but that is hit or miss early in the season.

Fields are great strutting zones but so are high knolls and benches. A light drizzle is the best time to spot check fields.