MT Unit 455 Beartooth Game range advice

Tenormsster011

I had the great fortune of drawing a once in a lifetime tag. I've been getting in shape like crazy as I won't have horses or pack llamas for this hunt. I was wondering if anyone familiar with the area could give me pointers. Im a Montana resident and will be scouting it this summer/fall. I've always been a meat hunter and put in for this unit based on some friends who hunted it years ago but I was hoping for some advice from someone more current. Thanks to anyone who replys to this post. Your time is greatly appreciated

Last edited:
OP
T

Tenormsster011

The draw odds are around one percent with just the straight draw. This doesn't include the points system which would even make my odds worse.

michaelwilson950

I hunted a piece of private in 455 in 2017. It is veeeeery close to the game range. Don't know if my experience will be applicable, but we saw a ton of deer. I would assume as light as the pressure is on the game range it would be the same. We shot the 2 biggest deer we saw. I am sure we could have killed better deer, but we weren't being too picky. Beautiful country. What are the dates on the game range hunt?

Attachments

• 019.JPG
    019.JPG
    583.2 KB · Views: 73
  • 20171116_155450.jpg
    20171116_155450.jpg
    305.5 KB · Views: 73

BuzzH

I had the great fortune of drawing a once in a lifetime tag. I've been getting in shape like crazy as I won't have horses or pack llamas for this hunt. I was wondering if anyone familiar with the area could give me pointers. Im a Montana resident and will be scouting it this summer/fall. I've always been a meat hunter and put in for this unit based on some friends who hunted it years ago but I was hoping for some advice from someone more current. Thanks to anyone who replys to this post. Your time is greatly appreciated
Have you considered shooting a whitetail? I would if I had that tag.

mtblackdog