Multi fuel, canister or Trangia?

Hey guys, I'm experienced hiker but I'm having difficulties trying to find a light weight but durable hiking stove. I've use Trangia, Kovea and 360 degrees products also been on trips where friends have used Jetboil and the like. I'm on the market for a new system but can't decide if I should try something new like a MSR Dragonfly, Soto Muka for the multi fuel capabilities if I find myself wanting to do a trip in the snow and just because it turns out to be cheap buying white gas from the hardware store. Anyway what do you guy recommend I do for a solid long lasting cooking system? That's also light weight and doesn't require too many extras for it to work.

I have some experience with an MSR multifuel stove. It’s true that it will run cheap white gas or anything you feed it. But not nearly as well as if you feed it the expensive stuff from MSR. Which is not that easy to find. But the cold weather-altitude benefit is real. But with canisters if you keep them warm ish they work well enough. I found a solo Primus stove with a cup that locks on not unlike an MSR reactor. It works awesome. Lights easy and the isobutane canisters last a quite a long time. Mostly because it’s efficient and boils water quickly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
C
I have some experience with an MSR multifuel stove. It’s true that it will run cheap white gas or anything you feed it. But not nearly as well as if you feed it the expensive stuff from MSR. Which is not that easy to find. But the cold weather-altitude benefit is real. But with canisters if you keep them warm ish they work well enough. I found a solo Primus stove with a cup that locks on not unlike an MSR reactor. It works awesome. Lights easy and the isobutane canisters last a quite a long time. Mostly because it’s efficient and boils water quickly.

What sought of meals do you bring with you?