Muzzleloader recommendation

satchamo

WKR
Thinking of trying to pickup a muzzleloader for whitetails this fall in IL.

I have very little experience with muzzleloader. I don’t have a super tight budget but I’d like to maybe stay all in for $500? That includes optics.

Any recommendations?

JGTWI

WKR
Classified Approved
I’d suggest that you look at the CVA optima V2. I bought one last year with open sights and it’s a nice gun for the price. I like the way the action opens, and the breech plug removes easily for cleaning.
They sell a version that comes with a scope (seems decent) or you can get it with rings and put your own on it, which is probably the route I’d go if I wanted a scope.

JTR11

FNG
I’ve shot many whitetails with a CVA Wolf. I just have the factory fiber optic sights. Thinking about adding a scope this year. No complaints. Reliable. Easy to clean. Great value.

Okie_3

FNG
I would recommend the CVA optima V2 as well. I bought one last year and put a leupold scope on it and it shot great. I use the powerbelt aerotip bullets. I am confident out to 150 yards (don't really even want to shoot a ML past that). And its killed an elk and black bear in Colorado with open sights. Solid choice.

Perhaps a bit out of your quoted price range, but a custom built christian springs, Andreas Albricht .62 cal. flinter you will never look back. Do not get me wrong the in-lines have there place (in the gun vault) if your looking for the challenge get a traditional built rifle.

Don’t over look the older Rossi. Only downfall is they have a extendable ramrod. Dosent matter if it is stainless or blue if you buy a used gun pull plug and check the bore.

hic7877

FNG
Never had any issues with my t/c impact sb. Should be well within your budget.

I also am a left handed shooter, really like the .54 cals, but my go too gun is a .62 cal long rifle, flint lock. Leaving in three days on my first mule deer hunt but it will be with a modern rifle, Good hunting too you.