My First Rifle Build-Advice Sought

Hi All,

I'm seeking advice on doing my first "custom built" rifle. I'm a lifelong hunter, but have only recently acquired the time and budget to complete my first build.

I'm completely new to the custom/semi-custom build process and I have a few questions, but first here's what I'm looking at building:

Platform: Tikka T3x in .308 or .300WM
Stock Upgrade: Kinetic Research Group, Bravo Chassis
Scope: Swarovski Optik Z5

So here are my questions:

Is the stock swap something I can do myself, or is a gunsmith/professional strongly recommended?
What specifics do I need to be aware of when purchasing these components for my build?

Any helpful suggestions and advice are welcome.

Since you didn’t ask for advice on mounting the scope, I assume you’re comfortable doing that. And in my opinion, if you can do that confidently, you can handle swapping the stock as well. I can’t give you torque specs off the top of my head but I bet you could do minimal research and watch a couple YouTube vids and be fine.

As for advice on purchasing these products...it’s an addiction. And if you’re like me, as soon as you successfully put a rifle together, you’ll wanna start another one. All jokes aside, just shop around. I often get antsy and just wanna buy it when I get the hunch, but if you wait a little and look around you can save yourself some money.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
P
eddiewiggles-Thanks for the reply, I appreciate the feedback.

It's a bit daunting, since I haven't attempted a rifle build before. You're right in that I have mounted a few scopes, but I'm certainly no expert. I'll start cruising through YouTube and see what I can find.

Sevens

WKR
Swapping the stock is very easy; nothing to fret about.

As Eddie said though, buildings a rifle is an addiction. Next thing you know, you’ll be buying a prefit barrel and and action wrench and trying to put the whole thing together from scratch.

OP
P