ND Big 3 Drawing

NDGuy

WKR
ND drew for it's Moose and Elk tags today....

No dice..... :(

For those of you that don't know our tags here are OIL tags. Pretty brutal odds too but if you are successful you have a shot at some giant bulls. We had over 20k people applying for 400ish elk and moose tags. Still worth putting in for the chance of a $30 elk/moose tag but man those odds are brutal, and no preference points at all.

There is always next year right?

OP
NDGuy

NDGuy

WKR
Nothing here but it's always fun to play the game
Always hopeful and never expected! A guy I know drew bull moose!

I'm moving states down the road, can barely hunt big game in our own state nowadays besides archery deer. Takes 3 years to draw a whitetail rifle tag in farm country now.

Scoot

WKR
Sadly, I'm a MN resident now, so I can't apply for these. I did get lucky and drew a moose tag about ten years ago. Worked really hard to find a moose (needle in a haystack where I was at) and finally shot a big cow with my bow during the gun season (totally struck out during the archery season). I had at least a dozen people looking for me and I was out a ton, but it was tough sledding! I was thrilled I punched my tag though!!!

I always hoped I'd draw an elk or bighorn tag... Good luck to those waiting on a sheep tag.

OP
NDGuy

NDGuy

WKR
Sadly, I'm a MN resident now, so I can't apply for these.
At least you got it done when you were here. I think my old man is finally throwing in the towel and is going to just put in for Cow moose next year. He just wants meat anyways.

Have a few buddies who have drawn elk tags in the last decade, always sounded like a fun hunt. Maybe they could issue more opportunity if they didn’t give rifle tags in the rut though?

OP
NDGuy

NDGuy

WKR
Young coworker just drew the elk tag for the unit right around TRNP his first year trying.