Need help choosing camera for upcoming dall sheep hunt!

mdoolin

FNG
I am hoping someone can help guide my decision on what camera I should bring on my upcoming dall sheep hunt in Alaska this Aug. I have two cameras to choose from and am looking for some advice.

I am trying to choose between a Sony RX100 iii and a Sony A7 iii w/ a 28mm F2 lense. The A7 is obviously the better camera but with weight being a concern i'm wondering if it is significant enough to pack the extra weight for the extra performance? I'm not an expert by any means so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

orbowhunt

Lil-Rokslider
If weight is a concern at all, I'd go with the Rx100. The best camera is the one you have on you. A Rx100 on your hip belt or in your pocket will serve you much better than an A7iii stowed away in your pack IMO.

2 things to consider. What will you be doing with the images and will you be getting into photography after this hunt.
You can't compare the cameras. While the RX100 is one of the best point and shoot cameras, it has a 1" sensor. The A7 is considered one of the best cameras on the market. If you will be blowing up your images or getting into photography then the A7 is the choice. You are comparing a Super Bowl Champ to the BCS (college) champ

Feel free to call me to discuss the plusses and minuses of each and of course, as always we will hook you up on either

BAKPAKR

WKR
I don’t have any experience with Sony cameras but I do have a 28mm prime lens for my Nikon bodies. While that is a great focal length for a lot of scenic shots, I think you would wind up missing a lot of good shots by being stuck at 28mm. I would recommend a zoom lens if you go with the A7.

robAK

Lil-Rokslider