need help with my first western hunt

B Brown

FNG
I am looking to do a DIY Antelope hunt this summer. I have not applied for a tag so I am looking to buy an over the counter tag for public land. I have never hunted west of NYC so I need some help. Is there a recommendation that someone can make for a particular area, state doesn't matter. Is there a way to find a watering hole that I can set up a blind on? I am also looking to camp on public land. I know this is a lot to ask for help with but I don't know where to start. Thanks in advance.

Brian
edited to add: not looking for anyones specific spots, just info to get me started.

jlmoeller

FNG
I went on my first western hunt last fall for antelope, so I am not an expert on this but here is my advice. Look into the north east corner Wyoming. You should be able to buy a leftover tag in that area. Most of the land is private so you will probably have to pay a trespass fee to a rancher. Line up a place to hunt before you buy a tag. I think you already missed the draw deadline but you can probably find leftover tags with some searching. Good luck.

If you call the game and fish they will send you a list of land owners you can contact for permission to hunt. You can also look at the national grass land. I hunted out of new castle a few years ago and had an awesome hunt and saw plenty of game. You'll have some fun out there. plus there are plenty of prarie dogs and yotes to keep you busy after you tag out. Only thing is finding out where you can get a left over tag. Unless you don't mind shooting a doe I think they are OTC tags. Good luck!

crumy

WKR
There are VERY VERY few left over tags in Wyoming. And the ones that area left over are not very good. You can get on wyoming game and fish site to look at past draw rates and left over. There are some, but even I don't get and OTC when I don't draw and I live in WY

Topgun 30-06

Banned