New hunter, old equipment

Mban2

FNG
I am just getting into hunting and am taking a realistic look at all of my equipment and slowly realizing it is too old, or too poorly taken care of to be really effective for poor weather hunting.

my background is mountaineering and a whole lot of Army-ing for the past 11 years, and my ultra light mountain hard wear tent is probably too small, my sleeping bag has been stored compressed for the majority of its 8 year life, and my backpacks are all 35-40L mountaineering packs.

looking to get into archery elk in the PNW (WA, ID,MT) and need to completely re-invest in gear to make this as enjoyable as possible.

Quilts seem to be the biggest mind blowing change to me. As a side sleeper who is very restless, this seems like it will be amazing. I am really looking into the enlightened equipment stuff. Sleeping pads are something that is a completely foreign territory. I have used an accordion style thermarest that is absolutely horrible from sleeping on the summit of Rainer, to the deserts of the Middle East.

I prioritize sleeping comfort over weight (to a degree) and I am wondering about a few things:

1) as a 5-11 215lb side sleeper, who only wants to buy one sleeping pad for conditions ranging from summer to 0F, what would you choose?

2) how light weight are Tipi style tents? I would like to be able to stand up (even hunched over) and I would like one that is “comfortable” for 2 grown men for 7 day hunts. Are they restrictively heavy? (10lbs-ish) or are they very easily carried by one man? What are decent models for a starting point for research?

For 1), look into the Thermarest Neoair X-Therm MAX (wide).

I don't know enough about 2), so good luck.

On another point, is the sleeping bag you stored compressed for 8 years down or synthetic? If down, and if it was stored dry, it might still be good.

OP
M

Mban2

FNG
For 1), look into the Thermarest Neoair X-Therm MAX (wide).

I don't know enough about 2), so good luck.