New ML Peep Shooter

I recently purchased a new Knight UL and set it up with a peep, fiber optic fire sight and hood like others here. Figured no reason to reinvent the wheel...thanks to those here on ROKSLIDE that spelled everything out! My problem is I'm new to shooting with a peep and am having a difficult time getting good groups. This may be a stupid question to most, but when looking through the peep should any part of the hood be visible or completely out of sight when aiming at the target? Today while shooting I realized that sometime I see part of the hood and other times I'm not prior to shooting...so my point of aim is not always the same. I feel a bit stupid that it took me so long to figure it out, but it does expain why I can put two shots nearly touching and the next shot 6" high. It is always my elevation that is off.

I would love to hear any advice you seasoned "peep" shooters are willing to share. Thank you in advance.

Best Regards,

John aka Trophy Quest

I recently purchased a new Knight UL and set it up with a peep, fiber optic fire sight and hood like others here. Figured no reason to reinvent the wheel...thanks to those here on ROKSLIDE that spelled everything out! My problem is I'm new to shooting with a peep and am having a difficult time getting good groups. This may be a stupid question to most, but when looking through the peep should any part of the hood be visible or completely out of sight when aiming at the target? Today while shooting I realized that sometime I see part of the hood and other times I'm not prior to shooting...so my point of aim is not always the same. I feel a bit stupid that it took me so long to figure it out, but it does explain why I can put two shots nearly touching and the next shot 6" high. It is always my elevation that is off.

I would love to hear any advice you seasoned "peep" shooters are willing to share. Thank you in advance.

Best Regards,

John aka Trophy Quest