New to archery and looking for advice

Vertroa

FNG
Hi friends, as the title says I am new to archery. I have been inspired from binge watching seasons of Alone and Cam Hanes videos (hopefully that does not earn me any hate as I don't know how the archery community feels about those two things). In any case, I dig any hobbies that gets me outside and adventuring. My goal is to begin with target practice and move onto small game hunting once I am fully confident in my ability. I have read through the beginner guides on the sidebar which were very helpful, but I have a few additional questions.
  1. I have no qualms with investing in a new hobby. However I don't think it make sense for me to purchase the top of the line Hoyt as I won't understand or leverage all the features of such a bow. However I still want to purchase a quality bow to begin honing my skills. How much should I spend on my first compound bow? What brand or model would you recommend?
  2. I live in the Portland, OR area and have identified a few clubs and pro shops nearby. Are there any locals here that would recommend any of the nearby shops?
  3. Is there any other advice your would give someone walking into the pro shop for the first time?
Thanks!

Seth

WKR
For starting out, don’t get caught up in chasing the latest, greatest bows. My 10 year old PSE killed this year’s elk just as dead as a new bow would have.

A good pro shop will help get you into a proper fitting bow. This is key to developing good form and getting off to the right start. Shoot several bows by different companies and see which feels better to you. To keep from developing bad habits early, a portion of your bow budget may be better spent on lessons/coaching to develop good form from the start.

As with all hobbies, you can go as deep down the rabbit hole as you choose.

Ive been bowhunting since I was 14. Itll get in your bones.