New to hunting

Ricky1219

FNG
Hello all,
I am new to hunting and I am looking to get into spot and stalk hunting. I am accustomed to hiking in places, reading topography and all of that as far as navigating terrain but I do not have anyone to help me get started.

I understand the concepts of using wind, terrain and stealth to your advantage. I do, however, know that I will need to gain experience to master those concepts. My question is, living in Texas, what what you all recommend for getting started?

Also should clarify I will be using a rifle.

OP
R

Ricky1219

FNG
Also for what I want to hunt I am looking at whitetail over in Edwards Plateau area of Texas, or down near black gap wma for mule deer.

Rich M

WKR
Sometimes it is best to just dive in and see what happens.

Sounds like you are 2/3 of the way there and don't even realize it.

Go scout your chosen hunting areas and get that figured out. Then when the season opens, go shoot one. It's a starter plan.

OP
R

Ricky1219

FNG
Sometimes it is best to just dive in and see what happens.

Sounds like you are 2/3 of the way there and don't even realize it.

Go scout your chosen hunting areas and get that figured out. Then when the season opens, go shoot one. It's a starter plan.
Thank you! Yeah, I’ve been trying to knock out as much research and scouting as I can. I just lack experience, and someone to point me in the right direction. Most of my friends and people who do hunt, all do from a stand.

One problem I’ve ran into is the lack of public land access in Texas. Mostly Private in the state and leases are stupid expensive so opportunities for hunts can be tough from what I’ve been seeing.

Rich M

WKR
Dont take this wring, but thats how it is about everywhere.

Im in FL and draw a quota permit every 3 years for archery, ML, rifle. Often they try do show up the same year. There are open hunt areas but those are 2-2.5 hrs each way and all i seen was does for the years i did go.