New to Reloading

ecsn7d

FNG
Hey guys. I am new to reloading and was wondering what would be a good reloading manual(s) to review and look at. I am specifically trying to work up a load for a .30-06 with 130 gr ttsx bullets for antelope. Thanks.

Harvey_NW

WKR
Reference them all. I'm not a Barnes guy but everyone says their data is usually either spot on or dang close. I like Hodgdons website for quick references, but I primarily use H extreme powders. I'm sure there is someone that will chime in with some actual data for you, but as a rule of thumb establish a safe starting point and work up slow. Do some research on how to recognize pressure signs and how temperature affects it as well. If you feel excessive recoil or your bolt is sticky to open up, stop right there and plan on backing that charge off. Good luck, welcome to the rabbit hole!!

rayporter

WKR
buy a couple at the least. sierra and hodgen are nice but the note book style is a pain for me.
also if you can find one of the load data booklets for your caliber you will use it often.

25orSo

Lil-Rokslider
I am specifically trying to work up a load for a .30-06 with 130 gr ttsx bullets

Since you are planning to use Barnes bullets, I'd start with the Barnes manual.

Mono bullets shoot different than traditional cup & core bullets. The Barnes book with have loads based on their bullets.

The latest Sierra manual has load data for the new IMR Enduron powders.

If you use a manual from Sierra, Nosler, etc pay attention to what bullet the load is for. Nosler's manual doesn't have seperate loads for mono vs. lead jacketed. They have a note for the E-Tip (mono) bullets to start with the minimum load and work up from there.

Since you are just getting started, the first section of any good loading manual is the basics of "How to Reload". Very well worth the read.

OP
E

ecsn7d

FNG