New to Utah

chy

FNG
Any information is a appreciated. That being said I'm new to Utah and new to Western hunting. I have been looking at maps combined with tag availability. If anyone has suggestions on do's and don'ts when it comes to applying for tags in Utah for the first time I'm all ears. Also if your willing to give me any information on public land that's appreciated not looking specific unit locations or a coveted spot. Just something to start doing some e-scouting.

Any information is an appreciated. That being said I'm new to Utah and new to Western hunting. I have been looking at maps combined with tag availability. If anyone has suggestions on do's and don'ts when it comes to applying for tags in Utah for the first time I'm all ears. Also if your willing to give me any information on public land that's appreciated not looking specific unit locations or a coveted spot. Just something to start doing some e-scouting.
I’m in Utah currently. There’s plenty of public land in Utah so I wouldnt worry about having people give you spots. Figure out what deer season you want to hunt (archery, muzzleloader, or rifle) then look on Utahs DWR website at the draw odds for each hunt. Find the hunts that you can draw every year with 0 points in the season you want to hunt (I’d find 3 so you’ll definitely draw). I’d also check harvest rates and public land amounts to decide the units you apply for. Then when you draw go out and scout the unit you drew and you’ll kill deer every year.

For elk you can hunt general every year. I’d pick an area near to you and learn it well.

For the premium deer and elk hunts you’ll have to pick one or the other to apply for and you’ll need to collect points for 10-20 years to draw a good hunt. Same with the big 4 (goat, sheep, moose, and bison) You’ll have to pick one and save up points.

Reactions: chy
Timberline001 says it straight.