New to Western Hunt - Training Plans?

Bdouble

FNG
Can anyone point me in the direction of a solid beginner / intermediate training plan for a noob to western hunting. I'm currently 40, in decent shape, ran 2 half marathons this year before injuring back while training for full marathon. But by no means am I assuming that road fit = mountain fit.
Would love a solid plan that can scale up with weight for hiking and conditioning.
Thanks in advance!

hogcarpy

FNG
I live in Omaha and run a bit throughout the year, but ramp it as the hunt gets closer.

A couple months out I’ll run a 5.75 mile loop 2-3 times a week, hike it once with a 50 pack, do a Bodypump class 2 times a week. It seems to have worked well for me. I’m not an expert, so I’m sure I could do something better. I feel like I get plenty of cardio, endurance and strength training.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I dont have a laid out plan but sounds like you have a great head start on a lot of people. Hopefully you are in an area like SW Wisconsin where there are some hills that you can get some miles in with a weighted pack and your hunting boots. Thats the main thing i attempt to do as much as possible.

Agreed, sounds like you're in better shape than many! Depending on where you're planning to hunt the altitude could be a factor. Going from sea level to hiking at 10,000+ feet will be a factor no matter your physical condition. If you can't train at higher altitudes, I'd be doing fast, intense hiking in the hills out there, trying to maintain a higher heart rate.

Block

WKR
You’ve gota just find hills of some sort and get after em with a 30-50 lb pack on.. that or a stair master with ur pack is probably the closest indoor simulation...