New to Western Hunting Boot recommendations.

I am new to western hunting and planning my first trip out west from Wisconsin. We are going to do a Colorado elk hunt. My question is i have Ultralight Hunters by Meindl (800 gram) currently for whitetail hunts back here that keep my feet warm. My question with going into the mountains hopefully 1st rifle season is if they will be to warm and/or have enough support for the steeper rougher terrain. I currently have no issues with them and would like to avoid buying new boots but dont want to ruin a hunt with poor/improper boots. Any advice or info would be greatly appreciated as this is my first post and am new to this.

Thanks!

Tauntohawk

Lil-Rokslider
When I went to idaho the ultralight 800s were my primary boot for the the pocono and catskill mountains here in PA/NY. Before I went I got a used pair of lowas just in case. 1/2 day in the ultralights and I figured out they were too flexible and the grip was not near aggressive enough.

I wore the lowas the entire rest of the week and was glad to have the stiffness and vibram tread.

The meindl's always fit my foot great though so I just bought the meindl comfort hunter which are 400gr and a much more robust design while still fairly light and have a good looking vibram sole. Just got them last week so no real miles in them but I think they will be a lot more suited for mountain usage while still be extremely comfortable.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

wildcat33

WKR
800gr is likely way too much for 1st rifle season (unless it dumps snow of course). Unlined would likely be a better choice.

OP
WiscoHoundsman
Thanks for the guidance on an unlined boot. Any suggestions on what brands/type of boot would be preferable? Or should i just look at past threads on the subject.

Shooter28

FNG