New Whitetail RIfle and Caliber

ShaneC

FNG
This will be my first rifle purchase in a long time. I have some different magnum calibers but am wanting something a little different. I have settled between the 6.5prc, 280ai, and 6.8western. This will be used for whitetail and hogs looking over large green fields and ag fields. This would be a 600yd gun. I would like the barrel no longer than 24" plus brake if possible. Everything I have found has been 26".
Also I am just getting into handloading, have all the equipment but still learning. So factory ammo won't be as much of an issue.

If that is your goal anything will work. 6.5 CM tikka on sale at sportsman’s is what I went with. You could do 7-08, 30-06, 243, 270, anything. I would consider the 257 wby also. Because I like wby guns in lefty. Most of my buddies use 300 win mag as their do all. I have a 7mm mag also that will work. The options for deer are endless. Find one that fits right and fits your budget and go kill stuff.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
S

ShaneC

FNG
If that is your goal anything will work. 6.5 CM tikka on sale at sportsman’s is what I went with. You could do 7-08, 30-06, 243, 270, anything. I would consider the 257 wby also. Because I like wby guns in lefty. Most of my buddies use 300 win mag as their do all. I have a 7mm mag also that will work. The options for deer are endless. Find one that fits right and fits your budget and go kill stuff.

I have a 300wm and 300wby and also a 7-08. Just wanted something new, as in new gun. Kind of settled on one of those three rounds.

Gotcha. I don’t think there is a wrong one in the bunch then. Old probably stick with one of the 6’s since you already have a 7-08 and the 300’s. The 280 may not be “different enough.”

elkguide

WKR