Newbie’s First Scope, Deer/Elk in the West Leupold Freedom VX 3-9x40?

I’m putting a scope on my first hunting rifle, a Remington 700 chambered in 308. I’ll be hunting deer and possibly elk or moose in the West, so Rocky Mountains and Utah high desert. I was thinking of getting the Leupold VX-FREEDOM 3-9X40 CDS TRI-MOA Part #180603, mostly because I can get it new for $315. I’m a total newbie though, and honestly don’t know much about scopes except $315 is in my price range and people like Leupold. Is this a good first scope? Is the magnification good or should I get a 4-12? It’ll probably be my only scope for several years FWIW.

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member
Leupold makes a good scope….the question I would ask is why do you want cds on it? What is your plan for shooting distance accuracy ? Most of us do not need cds as an option….

Hunt4lyf

Lil-Rokslider
I have that scope on a browning 308, it works just fine, before that was a leupold 2-7x33 and that worked fine also.

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member
I would look to other leupold scopes if cds are not something needed….as a new hunter simplicity in many phases will assist towards success and enjoyment of hunting🤙

Jethro

WKR
It’s not easy to find leupolds in stock that match a buyers desired specs exactly. I wouldn’t let having cds be the deciding factor not to buy it even if you have no desire to dial distance.

eric1115

WKR
What is your personality like? Are you the kind of guy who geeks out about details and processes and always looking to improve?

Do you have hopes of learning to shoot long range, or do you see yourself getting proficient at 200-300 yards and calling it good?

Do you see yourself really enjoying shooting, practicing throughout the year? Or do you think you'll be more of a "shoot one box of ammo before hunting season to check the rifle and dust off the cobwebs" sort of shooter?

Justinjs

Lil-Rokslider