Next optic purchase (binos, range finder, or …)

BryanL

Lil-Rokslider
Hi All. Long time lurker and new member. I am considering upgrading a pair of Steiner Military Marine 10x50 binos from 1970. They work alright, but I feel like modern glass is a big improvement in clarity. I’m on a budget and have been reading various reviews here and else where.

Does it make more sense to upgrade binos (to say Vortex Diamondback HD 10x42) or snag a range finder (e.g. Sig Kilo or Vortex Impact)? I’m going to try to scrape together funds for both. I’m hunting for blacktail deer and black bear in the coastal range primarily with the occasional trip to cascades. I keep considering a spotting scope, but I have no experience using one in the field. Any input is appreciated!

sndmn11

WKR
Do you rifle hunt or bowhunt?
It sounds like you current do not have a rangefinder?
In those two areas, what is a typical day of hunting like? In what terrain and vegetation?

OP
B

BryanL

Lil-Rokslider
Do you rifle hunt or bowhunt?
It sounds like you current do not have a rangefinder?
In those two areas, what is a typical day of hunting like? In what terrain and vegetation?
Rifle hunt for now. I used to bow hunt, but in a fit of stupidity, sold my bow.
I do not yet have a rangefinder at all. So far, I’m either trying to find knobs looking out/at clear cuts or in super thick coastal underbrush (Oregon on west side of Willamette valley). I’m still trying to find my “spots” since I think I’m hunting areas too frequented by people. I’m hunting with my 4 year old too so I can only go 1-2 miles away from the truck for now.

Dominic06

FNG