Night Landscape Photography: A Primer

Backcountry Night Photography: A Primer

Photography is a hobby of mine. I’ve been flattered to have a few of my photographs used commercially to sell outdoor products, and one of my night photos won 3rd place in the 2013 BHA Hunting Photo Contest, but I'm not a pro. Several people on this site and other sites have asked how I take night photographs, so I’m posting this in hopes that it might enrich your ability to take photographs and share memories.

Approximately 33% of your time in the backcountry is at night, so why not document some of that time which is typically spent in camp (base camp, spike camp, or bivy camp). I’m an adventurer as much as I am a hunter, and I savor the entire backcountry experience. Good photos let me share the experience with others.

DSC04113_zpsiuffmpb9.jpg~original

Choice of Camera:

For night landscape photography, you’ll need a camera with a micro four-thirds, APS-C, or full-frame sensor (or other equivalent sensor). The larger sensors are needed in order to gather more light per pixel. The camera should have the ability to shoot in full manual mode.

I often carry an Olympus micro 4/3 camera, because it’s weather-sealed and the micro 4/3 lenses will be the smallest of the bunch. However, this is not intended to be a camera review. You’ll get incrementally better dynamic range as you step up to the APS-C and full-frame sensors. The difference probably isn’t too important unless you need very large prints for commercial purposes.

It is important to understand what size sensor your camera uses, because you’ll need that information in order to calculate exposure times (more on this later).

DSC03796_zpskl2dpecf.jpg~original

Choice of Lens: