Nightforce NX8 vs NXS... Thoughts for a new scope buyer?

Im a broke college student saving up to get a rifle that will last me a lifetime. Im currently in the research stage and am looking at maybe a CA Ridgeline in a 300 RUM and putting a Nightforce on top. My dad shoots 900+ with his NXS 5.5-22x50 and is happy with it... but after research, I wanted to know if the NX8 in a 4-32x50 would be an upgrade. Aside from the bigger zoom range, it also has newer and higher quality glass, however has a smaller exit pupil than the NXS, which seems to equate to less light gathering ability. Does the better glass make up for the smaller exit pupil?

Aother question I have is about First or Second Focal plane. I plan on using this gun for both long range distance hunting, and also 500 and under hunting... whats the difference and which one should I get?

bpurtz

WKR
I have a long gun with an NX8 - it's a great scope and I would highly recommend it. When I had my gun built I went with the NX8 in FFP - after shooting, I quickly decided that was the wrong choice for me - at low power the reticle is very thin and difficult to see. I sold the NX8 FFP here on Rokslide and bought a NX8 in SFP.

The benefit of FFP is that for follow-up shots that require an MOA adjustment, you can simply choose a different reticle dash rather than redial. You can use the same non-dial adjust with the reticle on a SFP but usually only on full magnification power.

If you still think you might prefer a FFP scope, I'd suggest you try to look through one first - the thin reticle was really difficult for me to use at low power - especially in low light...

OP
TheColorCamo
I have a long gun with an NX8 - it's a great scope and I would highly recommend it. When I had my gun built I went with the NX8 in FFP - after shooting, I quickly decided that was the wrong choice for me - at low power the reticle is very thin and difficult to see. I sold the NX8 FFP here on Rokslide and bought a NX8 in SFP.