Noisy rain gear

heatstroke18

Lil-Rokslider
I’m all about buy once, cry once. I’m just getting into buying real dedicated hunting clothing and piecing stuff together. I’ve come to the road block that is rain gear/shell. Looking at all the brands between Sitka, First Lite, KUIU..... etc..... some reviews I’ve read say that “X” rain gear is loud and noisy, while others say that being loud does not matter because it’s raining and your not trying to be quiet, because rain isn’t quiet. I want to get rain gear that is versatile enough to hunt in the rain gear and stalk reasonably quiet, going to keep me dry obviously, but also use as a shell on the cold mornings late season when your sitting on the glassing knob looking for a critter to cut the wind and keep heat in. Any personal experiences would be great. I’m willing to spend the money on a set from the top brands but not the most expensive of sets ranging north of $800+.

mlgc20

WKR
My rain jacket is the Kuiu Yukon. I pretty much never take it off when I’m hunting. I just layer appropriately underneath depending on temp. It’s reasonably quiet, breathes extremely well, and is quite durable. I also run the Yukon gaiters. They are fantastic as well. For my rain pants, I use the Sitka Cloudburst. In general I like the Yukon stuff better. But, Sitka pants fit me better than Kuiu. I actually don't use the pants very often though. Between the jacket and gaiters, they cover what I need most of the time.

sneaky

"DADDY"
All rain gear is noisy. The stuff that isn't, doesn't work, and wets out easy and takes forever to dry.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

fatlander

WKR
How much bush whacking you’re going to do couples with how much it actually rains when you’re hunting should make your decision. No rain gear is going to be quiet, but when it’s raining, noise from the garment is a moot point.

I live in the SE and take a trip out to the Rockies to elk hunt every year. For me, Kuiu north ridge is perfect for what I do.