Non-resident Idaho DIY Elk 2022

Hi everyone, I’m new to Rokslide but I usually look at everyone’s posts for information for my hunts and some pointers.

Anyways, I am a younger bow Hunter from New Mexico and am looking for ways to hunt elk . I generally have success and can usually get on bulls fairly easy. However, getting tags here can be a pain sometimes and they just don’t seem to be bugling good until the last couple days of archery season. I have been looking at out of state opportunities in multiple states and I like what Idaho has to offer.

I have heard really good things about OTC elk hunting in Idaho and would love to try it out next year. I am not asking for areas to hunt, but would just like to know what it’s like to hunt there and what dates would be best (I’m guessing the end of September).

This past September I hunted the 1st through 14th and my buddy hunted the 15th through the 24th. I walked 120 miles in good areas that I scouted and had from years past. I heard a total of about 10 bugles on my hunt. On my buddies hunt, they were bugling better, but nothing like what I see in other states with better elk hunting. I just got back from a youth muzzleloader hunt and the elk were finally rutting in the middle of October, which sucks because I’d like to experience that in an archery hunt.

New Mexico has been good to me, this past September really put this state in perspective for me though. There are too many tags in these small areas and not enough big bulls to get on. I hunted wilderness for 14 days and ran into hunters wether I was 3 miles in, or 15 miles in. I also have only been drawing early September hunts (1st-14th) and I’d like to have more options for the dates which is something I like about Idaho.

I do not mind hunting the backcountry, wilderness, high elevation, or flat lands. I have the gear and equipment to do it all. I just want to know if it’s worth it to buy an OTC tag! Any and all information would be greatly appreciated!

Rob5589