North Dakota - Badlands

I'm new to this to Rokslide, I have noticed throughout searching many online forums there is very few who talk much about the hunting in the North Dakota Badlands. I'm guessing that's because there isn't as much opportunity for out of state residents to hunt there. That's not to say there isn't opportunity to hunt, non-residents can get archery licenses and have the slim chances of drawing a mule deer rifle tag. I haven't hunted out of state yet but with more and more I read about successful hunters in the more popular western hunting states like say Robby Denning, Remi Warren and other western big game hunters my desire to go further west grows greater. But with wanting to get more input from guys who have hunted the Badlands in ND I wanted to reach out to see if there was any hunters on this site who have done much hunting in ND. I grew up spending the past 15 years hunting in western ND mostly going after mule deer sometimes whitetail. I have had hunting partners who were lucky to draw the once-in-a-lifetime elk tag and also been part of those hunts. Looking forward to hopefully drawing my first antelope tag in ND this year (fingers crossed).

nodakian

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Where do you live? I'm in Dickinson and hunt whatever I can draw. Last year had a MD buck tag, MD doe the year before, WT does the years prior and again this year. I'll be after a WT doe with my youngest kid during youth season, and my oldest drew the either sex/either species youth tag so we'll be after a MD buck. I grew up hunting MT, and we drew some MD doe tags there this year, but I've found the Badlands suit me just fine. Sure would like the elk tag so I can use my Winchester 1985 in TR's former hunting ground.

Fatcamp

WKR
Well, in the unit 4 summary it doesn't even show a single archery mule deer being issued to a nonresident without a pile of points. That would explain it to me.

Looked into it years ago and it just seemed like a hassle. Cool area for sure.