November Archery Elk

Hey guys, I’m pretty new to Rokslide and just moved to Montana in August, so I know next to nothing about elk hunting. I was only able to go out for one weekend in September and got inside 40 yards of a 4x4 bull before the wind swirled and he was gone.

I’ll be going out this weekend and next and I’m taking the first legal elk I can-cow or antlered bull. I also have a deer tag in case I see one. Obviously staying dry and warm is paramount, I think I’ll be okay with that, but has anyone bowhunted elk using spot and stalk or still hunting tactics in November? If so, what process should I follow to find elk?

I’ll probably be somewhere in Gallatin county, so if you know of general areas or elevations depending on the weather that might be productive that would be great. Obviously I’m not asking for honey holes.

Also, how do elk behave at this time of year? Do cows usually herd up? Are bulls solitary or is there sometimes a second rut for the cows that weren’t bred? It’s supposed to be ~25° during the day and will probably snow at least once while I’m out there. Should I glass south facing slopes for feeding elk? Should I return to the place I went last time or look somewhere else? Should I be seeing lots of sign in fresh snow? Should I even try cow calling if I get in close? Any info is greatly appreciated.

Hope you’re all having a great week and getting after it in the mountains!
-Josiah

rratzlaff1490

Lil-Rokslider
Hey Josiah! Congrats on moving to Montana. Something I hope to do someday.