Offseason gear upgrades

Happy 2020, hope it's treated you all well so far.

This is the time of year when I start taking stock of what worked this season and what didn't, what stays in the pack and what gets an upgrade. Had always seen packable wood stoves as nothing but a luxury item, had some cold, wet hunts this season though and came to the realization that isn't necessarily the case in a high moisture environment like BC. Picked up a lite outdoors cylinder stove and their plateau tipi, going to put it through the ringer this spring and put together a review once I have some more experience with it...haven't seen many reviews on that tent but all the first hand reports I got were solid.

My big ol' bulky yukon gear jacket was warm as hell but packed like a bear cape, that got replaced with an uncompahgre. Think I'll replace my boxy polartec fleece with a klamath this month as well. Buck knife paklite set and sharpener were traded in for a lighter havalon. Disposable cheese cloth game bags traded in for reusable tag bags. Always been a synthetic sleeping bag guy but going to bite the bullet trying hydrophobic down this season and see how it works in the PNW, another report on that will be incoming eventually. Was planning on trying to get a duplex frame to run this spring but tried my buddies on and wasn't overly impressed so the sjk bounty 2.0 will ride out another season with a few small modifications. Curious what other people are upgrading, what's getting left behind in 2020 and what game changers you picked up last offseason that definitely earned their place in your pack for next season.

jkdrgn

Lil-Rokslider
Good Post,
I'm really not happy with the Outdoorsmans pack, it hurts my hips while packing meat, will definitely be looking at a Stone Glacier, or Exo Pack this year.

Used gaiters for the first time, Outdoor Vision. Very happy with the concept and execution. Will be using them much more often in the future.