On the ground, on the pack, into the truck ... then what?

Zvestal

FNG
So, I'm new here and didn't spend a ton of time looking, so forgive me asking a question already answered elsewhere. I'm new to hunting, going after Colorado elk, and I'm thinking (optimistically!) through all scenarios.

Do most folks process their own after kill/quarter/pack/truck/drive home? I have been thinking game processor/butcher but I have not made arrangements in advance.

I'm in Fort Collins if anyone has a recommend. Thanks!

Jn78

Lil-Rokslider
Processing at home is the way to go. If you can keep your meat cool, clean, and dry, it is fine for a week or more, so you can take your time. Also, processing is pretty intuitive - the big muscle groups really show you where they come apart. For what its worth, I dont cut steaks or remove silver skin before I freeze. (I do remove fat.) I just leave whole muscle groups whole. That way when I thaw them, I can cook a roast, cust up fajita meat, stew meat, or steaks. Also, for shanks, just leave the bone in, cut the meat and bone into portions, leave all the connective tissue, and slow cook them until the meat falls off the bone. It is fantastic for tacos and bbq and that eliminates lots of butchering time. Also, if you are pressed for time, it is ok to freeze big bags from the grind pile. Just thaw it when you are ready to grind. If you need help during the process, just pull up youtube videos.

2ski

WKR
I've never made arrangements to have meat processed. I just show up to a processor and if they're busy, watch as everyone unloads their animal, ooh and ah over the nice ones with everyone else, shoot the shit with everyone, sample their jerky and sausage,, and then back up when its my turn. As a kid, going to the processor was one of my favorite parts of the hunt. When I had to start paying to have an elk processed....I didn't like it as much.

I learned to process my own meat. Love it!
You have complete control over all the cuts.