Option Archery sight?

sf jakey

Lil-Rokslider
Anyone using the Option Archery sight and happy with it? How about anyone who had it and moved on? Why? I run a black Gold 5 pin slider and a 3 pin slider. I love the Black Gold pins and brightness, love the micro adjustability, but I often forget to return the sight to zero after adjusting and make stupid shots. This WILL cost me an animal someday. I also find that at longer ranges, moving the entire housing affects my anchor a bit, which is bad at distance. So the Option 8 looks like it solves my issues, but is it good or is it a gimmick that isn’t well executed? Thanks

I've been shooting an Option 8s since 2018 and I love it. The fixed pins are completely independent of the moving pin so they're always at the correct range, and there's no need to ever reset to zero before aiming with the fixed pins. The ability to swing the fixed pins out of the way gives you a very clean sight picture for target/3D shooting (and at an animal if you have the time). The sight is very well-built structually and the fit/finish of all the moving components is great. I like mine well enough that I just picked up a used Option 6 to put on my backup bow.

I'm obviously a fan, but the Option design may not be everyone's cup of tea. It's definitely not a gimmick though; it's a high quality sight right up there with other top-of-the-line offerings.

Last edited:

Ctitus25

Lil-Rokslider
I have the option 8 and its nice. My only gripe is that the oval housing makes it tough to see the pins near the bottom through the peep. That being said, I have my fixed pins zeroed to my broadheads and the slider zeroed to my field points. Negligible difference out to 60 where I shoot the broadheads, but after 60 there is wind drag and my lack of skill :D 🏹 and I like to shoot far targets at the 3D range. So the sight is nice for that flexability.

Ian Ketterman

Lil-Rokslider