Outfitter canceled $9500 elk hunt 25 July. Thoughts on 2023 outfitters?

Fartface

FNG
This fall is looking pretty poor and I am asking for leads for 2023 archery elk outfitters which will be able to provide a tag or hunt units which a tag can be obtained OTC, or I should be able to draw a tag. My budget is $10k.

This is the first year I have every booked a guided elk hunt. Boy was I wrong. I placed a $3000 deposit over 12 months ago, and I called the outfitter up 25 July, to get any last minute details and he tells me my hunt is canceled because he no longer has ranch access. I really needed this hunt for my sanity. I am a combat veteran with a service connected disability for ringing in my ears due to multiple IED detonations on my vehicle. I personally disarmed 198 explosive devices as a Navy EOD Tech Team Leader and was awarded a Bronze Star with V from General Mattis USMC.

I have bow hunted since 2005 DIY on public land and been successful with deer, elk, bear, cougar. I typically ultra light weight back pack hunt alone with a bivy and enjoy being cold, tired, and hungry for 10 days. I now have kids age 2 and 5, so I scout less and less, and as a result my success has decreased.

I am ready to regroup, and look to 2023 archery elk. I would like first hand recommendations for an outfitter based on the following criteria.
  • physically demanding hunt
  • minimal interaction with other hunters
  • hunts an area with OTC tags or can provide a tag
  • guide has multiple years hunting experience with clients in the area
  • guide knows how to call elk.
  • personal preference would be to multi day overnight hunt with a ultra light pack or a drop camp
  • unguided drop camps may also be ok because it removes the unknown variable of the competence of the guide.
  • budget $10k
  • Preference points Colorado 10 pts; Montana 3pts, Wyoming 1pt;
  • I do not like horses. I am happy to meet them at camp, but I dont like to ride.

OP
Fartface

Fartface

FNG