outfitter recommendations

Hoot

WKR
I have a friend that asked me yesterday, a little late in the game I know, about an outfitted hunt for him, his dad, and his nephew. This would be a rifle hunt, his dad is older and they are not in the greatest shape so that is a factor, and they'd like nice cabin/accommodations, they are open to like 3-7k per person, and are open to CO, NM, really anywhere where they could get a tag and have a nice hunt with a decent chance at bulls.

I am more of a DIY and archery hunter, so I am not sure where to begin, anyone have any starting suggestions?

I'm not an expert, but I think in general the type of hunt you are describing would be outfitted, and the best outiftters are usually booked by now for 2021. That being said, I would search for guide and outfitter listings in the states you're interested in and starting making calls and sending emails. Also search for their pages on FB or Instagram to see if they are fully booked or have openings.

Good luck!

wavygravy

FNG
Call around and asked to be placed on the waitlist for any cancellations. It worked for me in 2020, but yea all the good ones are already booked for this year and next.

KHNC

WKR
Avoid the panhandle of Idaho and NW Montana. No matter how good the outfitter you find makes it sound. CO is probably your only hope of finding a tag and a hunt for this season. Call Dan Ardrey in Eastern Colorado for an easy (physically) elk hunt. OTC tags . 719 439 4759

Wapiti1

WKR
Call Shoshone Wilderness Adventures. They had a couple in a recent flyer for CO and NM.

Jeremy

Brooks

WKR
Call some outfitters in NM they will be buying landowner tags from landowners in June and will have hunts available. Now is the time to call because after the draw is announced in late April guys who didn’t draw will be looking hard for NM outfitters who have tags and hunts.

At this point if you want a hunt that fits your requirements I think you should plan for 2022.... at the earliest.

tigb27

FNG