PAC boots or ?

Hi I’ve got a pair of Schnees/Lowa sheep hunters, uninsulated. They are great boots for early archery through about November but I’m looking to get something a little warmer to get me through the winter. I had my sights set on something similar to the sheep hunters but for that style of insulated boots it’s upwards of $400. I’ve never had a good pair of pac boots I’m just wondering if a good pair would be worth getting and comfortable to hike in or would that just wear them out. Any input is greatly appreciated.

Big Ern

WKR
Good pacs ie schnees, kennetrek, hoffman are warm and confortable. And, Theybare great to hike in out West. There is a reason why so many hunters/guides out west recommend then when it gets cold.

Go for it. You won’t be sorry. My schnees pacs have been going strong for years.

Clrems77

WKR
Another vote for the Schenees. I’ve been running their boots without a single issue for the past 4 years. They were comfortable right out of the box without any break in miles and have held up to miles in the snow and Rocky Mountains of Colorado and Montana. The changeable inserts allow adjustments in warmth with different thickness/ grams of insulation and their customer service for me has been nothing but spectacular.

Sridge

FNG
I bought a pair of schnees this year and really like them. Hiked lots of miles in tough terrain, some with hauling elk quarters. They actually have some ankle support. Just make sure you treat the leather.

Coldtrail

WKR
13" Schnees Hunter IIs, had them almost 15 years, ton of hard miles, 3-4 rebuilds, decent customer service. They do have a tendency for the rubber bottoms to crack at the flex points after a season or two, but I wear mine virtually every day for half the year. The only boots that I can get wet daily, dry them daily and get more than one season out of.

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member