Pack help! MR vs Kifaru

ktran

FNG
I'm new to rokslide so trying to obtain privileges by posting more. I also know this question has been asked in a million places so I figured I'd try to be more specific.

I've got my first hunting trip out west in Nebraska coming up. I'm looking at a new (or used) pack. Currently running an Eberlestock Dragonfly J107 and it's getting pretty beat up. I've been recommended the Kifaru Duplex Lite frame with Stryker XL frame several times, but that price tag is steep and I know if you buy quality, you won't have to buy as often. I've also been looking at the Mystery Ranch Beartooth 80. Figured I can fold down extra space I don't need. I also do one to two BWCA trips a year so having a bigger pack would be used for that too. What I mainly want is a pack that can haul meat closer to the body and both seem to do that. The thing I don't like about my Eberlestock is there's a rifle pouch between the pack and straps. I mostly bow hunt so don't really need the rifle pouch and this also brings the load farther away from my body. I find myself hunching over a lot when packing weight.

I also see people say the MR fits them better than the Kifaru and vise versa. I think that would depend on the body type. It would be best to try both out but unfortunately, I don't have the funds to do that. For reference, I'm 5'8" with a more athletic build. 165 lbs, waist is about 30-31 inches. Torso is about 16 inches.

Anyone with similar build that's tried both or have any of these packs that can provide input?

Thank you

WKR
The Beartooth is a good bag, the guide lite mt frame is very good also. It will do everything the Kifaru will do, but in the end, personal preference plays the biggest part of the decision.

I think MR is on sale right now, up to 30% off.

OP
K

ktran

FNG