Pack Training

Are you guys running the same pack/frame for workouts/hikes as you are for hunting? I have a muskeg but am curious what everyone’s doing and if I should get a separate bag solely for rucks. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

amp713

WKR
I generally try to treat it like an actual hunt/hike. Packing it full of actual gear will help you dial in your system for the year. I have an apollo as well as I used to have a 5k muskeg. I switched to the apollo during summer and love that bag honestly but I dint think it is a need. I got a quarter panel thinking id use it for sand bags and I never have used the thing

GLB

WKR
I use my hunting pack. I slip a sandbag in the meat shelf and rain gear, binos, clothing for layering as needed in the main compartment.

OP
TKvamme183
Thanks for the feed back. I generally use the sand bag and an old sleeping bag under it.

OP
TKvamme183
Amp713 what made you go away from the muskeg? This is my first year running it and it’s done what I’ve wanted it to. I read some reviews about gear still getting wet. We got rained on a few days and all my gear stayed dry

amp713

WKR
Amp713 what made you go away from the muskeg? This is my first year running it and it’s done what I’ve wanted it to. I read some reviews about gear still getting wet. We got rained on a few days and all my gear stayed dry

I went from the 5 to the 7 and it was WAY too much bag. I'm actually planning to go back to the 5k. Just running my apollo with a bane right now to get by. No big hunts planned so I dont need the 5k just yet. Hoping to find one for sale for a good deal in the off season.