Packrafting......Upstream?

Copen1822

Lil-Rokslider
I have zero experience with packrafts but I'm thinking about using one to access a piece of landlocked BLM. For access I would need to go about a mile upstream in a medium size river at (low) fall flow.

Raft in question would be Alpacka Caribou.

Does that sound feasible to those of you with experience? I've only ever heard of using them to float down a river.........

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Redwing

Lil-Rokslider
That really depends on exactly what kind of medium sized river you're talking about. Might make more sense to wade the banks while towing your gear in the pack raft, then use the raft to cross when you get to a high or deep bank that you can't wade past.

So, I have been in one form or another a whitewater raft and kayaking guide since ‘96.
Also a hunting guide since 2009.
Without knowing exactly which river you are talking about, I cannot help other than a general answer, but I would be happy to help you put a plan together if you want to PM me.
I would generally say you have 2 options:
- Pack the packraft on the land up to your spot and then only use it to descend the river back to you truck. (Much Preffered option)
- if you need to cross private land (which is what your description of “landlocked” means), you could do so by paddling up stream. What are the water laws in your state? Is water a public domain?
If so, a hard shell kayak will be much more proficient in attaining progress up stream. But, it will need lots of practice for you be able to control effectively.

Again, I’m happy to help and I won’t tell secrets. That is what also has helped me to be a bartender for 20 years. I’m good at keeping people’s issues/drama they drunkenly tell me in the “the vault”!
I do like your style considering access.