Packs for Big Guys

BigDawgWill44

Lil-Rokslider
Is there a certain pack company that is better suited for us stockier build types? I wear size 40 jeans. Looking at Kifaru and Mystery Ranch. Open to other suggestions. Anyone with experience let me know. Thanks!

I have no experience with the packs you mentioned. However, my exo pack has been great for me and it sounds like we are similar in size.

gregory r

Lil-Rokslider
I wear 40 jeans also. Just got a Mystery Ranch Selway with the 40+ belt. Plenty of belt left with heavy clothes on. The torso is adjustable from 17-24 inches on the new guide light mt frame. Put about 50lb. in it to get it fitted right, and it is very comfortable.

Having a 40 inch waist, and broad, thick shoulders, it gets frustrating trying to find a pack that fits.

I bought a Kuiu Venture for a day pack. Awesome pack, with great organization, but I max the waistbelt out with light clothing. The shoulder straps had to have the sternum strap down to the bottom of the straps with light clothes. I'm going to have to sell it, regrettably.

I have a Mystery Ranch Scapegoat 35 coming for a day pack. Not the organization of the Kuiu, but if it fits me, I can get around that!

OP
BigDawgWill44

BigDawgWill44

Lil-Rokslider
I wear 40 jeans also. Just got a Mystery Ranch Selway with the 40+ belt. Plenty of belt left with heavy clothes on. The torso is adjustable from 17-24 inches on the new guide light mt frame. Put about 50lb. in it to get it fitted right, and it is very comfortable.

Having a 40 inch waist, and broad, thick shoulders, it gets frustrating trying to find a pack that fits.

I bought a Kuiu Venture for a day pack. Awesome pack, with great organization, but I max the waistbelt out with light clothing. The shoulder straps had to have the sternum strap down to the bottom of the straps with light clothes. I'm going to have to sell it, regrettably.