Pagosa Springs area hunting

GusF16

FNG
I'm looking for new hunting ground further south in CO. I've been hunting Unit 5 north of Steamboat for the last 12 years and it seems it's been discovered. Plus the drive is killing me from Phoenix! I've mapped out some promising areas northwest of Pagosa Springs, but I'm unfamiliar with the area. I've hunted NE of Durango a couple of times, but it's difficult without horses. I spoke to the SE area elk biologists and they said the southern herds have been in decline for several years. Other than that they weren't very helpful. Is anyone familiar with that area just south of the Weminuche Wilderness area, I believe it's area 77? Is it popular with outfitters...etc?? Thanks for any info.

hunting1

WKR
It is popular with everyone from Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma, and NM to name a few. Pretty country though. I hunted closer over toward Durango but same vicinity. You can get away and see elk but be prepared for miles.

Poser

WKR
We had a big storm during 3rd rifle last year. I wasn’t seeing any mule deer so drove over to Wolf Creek for a day of snowboarding. On the drive back to Durango through unit 77 late in the day, I was shocked at the amount of hunters parked along Hwy 160. 15-20 vehicles at every access point. More Texas plates than I could count. The unfortunate thing about that entire area, besides too many people, is too many roads and too many trails. I did some sept bear hunting over there and nothing was very inspiring about it.

Jxferg7

Lil-Rokslider
Yeah I wouldn’t go to Pagosa if your worried that steamboat “got discovered”. That’s mountain elk hunting in OTC anywhere….and 77 went to draw so I’m assuming your picking up a leftover or grabbed a tag?

Drew a tag there this year myself! What season did you get? I’ll be going September archery.. hopefully I can pass along some information when I get back.

Elk hunting has been changing. It's been happening for a while, but it seems lately it's hand over fist changes.