POI Change? Hot Barrel

j_volt

WKR
I have a custom 300 PRC that might be having some issues. I’m relatively new to the custom rifle game, so I’m wondering if this is normal or not.

This rifle has a Bartlein CF M24 26” barrel, Defiance AnTi action, Manners EH1 stock, and a Trigger Tech Special trigger. All of the work was done by Alpha & Omega Rifle and Tool in Mound City, Missouri.

Here is the potential issue… this gun shoots perfect for the first 3-5 shots. Sub 0.5 moa. However, somewhere between that 4th and 6th shot, the POI drops fast to the tune of 2-3 moa. Once it drops, it remains relatively consistent at that low POI shift. For what it’s worth, I have been shooting between 60° and 85°. I have confirmed this hypothesis with multiple shooters and three different loads.

My question - is this normal? I get that this shouldn’t be a big issue for hunting, but my confidence in this rig is low. This is making practice very tough.

As a side note, I received this barrel with a “ding” out of the carbon. The barrel was sent back to Bartlein and they stripped the carbon and then wrapped it again. You can see that post here.

OP
j_volt

j_volt

WKR
Mirage off the barrel? Easy check would be less scope mag or a barrel mirage band
Good point - I thought that may be it, but I used a fan and have seen zero distortion. The low POI continues even if I give it a 5 minute break.

Rifles And More

Lil-Rokslider
Start with the easy stuff.

Is everything tight/tourqed? Check it all from action screws to scope mounts.
What scope - I missed that?
Change the scope out and try another.
I am guessing this is off a bench? Get down prone and try it out. No rest, just bags front and rear.
Clean the absolute piss out of the barrel.

Do one thing at a time and test.

If there is nothing there that resolves your issue, I'd be on the phone with the gunsmith quick.

PsRpOiGrRiAtM

Lil-Rokslider