Predator setup

nam1975

Lil-Rokslider
Looking at setting up a predator rig for Ohio hunting. Coyotes for the most part.
I have a Sako 222 with Leopoldo Rifleman scope that I took as payment for a side job, but it’s almost too nice to cart around the woods!
I guess I could sell it to fund this. But it’s a rather unique rifle, not sure on the market?

Questions:
1. Would an AR be less accurate than a bolt gun of similar caliber, 223 or 22-250?
2. Anything wrong with setting up a 6.5, 25-06, or .243 that I could also maybe use for other hunting?
3. Night optics. I’m brand new to this, really know nothing. Can you buy the night vision and attach it to a normal scope? Do you need thermal too? Or is that an extra option?

Thanks Roksliders!

NorthernHunter

Lil-Rokslider
To answer some of your questions, most people use AR style rifles and/or shotguns. I hunt coyotes in WI and use an AR or my 6.5 bolt gun that I hunt everything else with. Any caliber will work. Smaller the better for saving the pelts. With the 6.5 I use non expanding target rounds. Can't answer the night sights. I just use the scopes I have and hunt while its light. Just get an electronic call and get out there and learn and have fun.

satchamo

WKR
Personally - I’d get an AR.

I’ve killed my share of coyotes with bolt guns, shotguns and an AR. I now use my AR exclusively and occasionally take a shotgun when the cover calls for it. I hunt in Indiana and IL so I’m similar terrain to you as well. We don’t get those long shots you see on tv. I’ve never killed or shot at one last 200 yards. Most of the time they’re sub 100. So ultimate precision isn’t necessary- not that it hurts.

The primary advantage of an AR over a bolt gun is the quick follow up shot. I call in pairs quite often and when you’re alone an AR makes doubling up an actual possibility. Also if you miss it’s a quick follow up.