Prefered number of arrows in your quiver.

TaterTot

Lil-Rokslider
I like to carry 5,

3 broadheads
2 judo.

That give me one arrow for a practice/confidence shot once I'm set up.

One arrow incase I run across a chicken.

And 3 broad heads. Last year three wasn't enough on one hunt lol. I took a poke at 2 coyotes and then had a bear come in and had to decide between shooting a bear and ending my deer hunt or passing on the bear and waiting for deer.

I think the situation matters if others commenting can mention what/where (ex: Big Game Western Hunting vs. East Farmland Whitetail hunting).

I hunt whitetails in Virginia and only have a 3 arrow quiver. I'd have a 2 arrow one if they existed. If I need more than 2 shots on a deer I need to go back to the range and practice. My hunting is primarily hiking around the mountains for 8 hours (no camping or treestand hunting). I'm new to archery but have taken two deer. Each only needed one arrow, and then my hunt was over.

oldgoat

WKR
If Selway made a 7 or 8 arrow model, I'd buy it, it's usually a long damn way back to the truck elk hunting and I'll turn an elk hunt into a grouse hunt at the drop of a hat, I want at least 5 arrows with broad heads and a judo and then have a couple extra broadheads with me. Recently my judo arrow has a cheap broadhead on it that's sharp and I change our to judo head if time allows. Shot a cow moose in 2019, wounded her, had to hunt for her and finish her off, she didn't run off and I emptied my quiver into her just to try and end it a little faster! Deer hunting, I'm never that awfully far from the truck and it's mostly flat and low elevation so I carry 4 good broadheads, one cheap and one judo. So, six arrow model is what I use!

Geewhiz

WKR
The more the better IMO. Plan for the unexpected.

Everybody says "it should only take 1 arrow" but if your elk hunting for days on end and miles from the truck I'll tell you, I don't want to run out of arrows.

OP
TaterTot

TaterTot

Lil-Rokslider