Preparing for First DIY Elk Hunt

JW@TRACT

Lil-Rokslider
Rokslide Sponsor
I just applied for an elk tag here in SW CO with a friend of mine. Beyond knowing the general area where we'll hunt (assuming we draw), I'm curious about what I should be doing to prepare for the hunt? Back in the day I was an editor at Sporting Classics magazine and was sent on assignment to cover the 40th anniversary of the Whittington Center in New Mexico. It also included an elk hunt. The hunt was a success though I would not come close to calling myself an elk hunter.
So, again, my question is, what should I be doing in the months leading up to the hunt? As always, appreciate any advice from the wealth of experience and knowledge you guys and gals have.

bsnedeker

WKR
Cardio, squats and lunges, practice calling, listen to elknut, Corey Jacobsen, and Rowe Hunting Resources podcasts, spend the rest of your time studying Google earth.

That's what I would focus on.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

FlyGuy

WKR
I just applied for an elk tag here in SW CO with a friend of mine. Beyond knowing the general area where we'll hunt (assuming we draw), I'm curious about what I should be doing to prepare for the hunt? Back in the day I was an editor at Sporting Classics magazine and was sent on assignment to cover the 40th anniversary of the Whittington Center in New Mexico. It also included an elk hunt. The hunt was a success though I would not come close to calling myself an elk hunter.
So, again, my question is, what should I be doing in the months leading up to the hunt? As always, appreciate any advice from the wealth of experience and knowledge you guys and gals have.

That is a long list....

Get in shape
Spend thousands in gear, glass, camo
Shoot, a lot
Ruck with weight
Make a hunt plan
Break in your boots
Buy meals and preplan meal bags with calories per day
Be proficient with fire starting
Practice your calling
Digital scout the unit and have a plan a,b,c,d....