Promising load went to sh!t?

Xringer07

Lil-Rokslider
I'm somewhat new to reloading (Jan 2020) and have been working on load development for my Rem 700 in .243 Win. (Factory walnut stock, glass and pillar bedded, Zeiss V4 3-12, Talley Lightweight rings). Settled on a 95 gr NBT over 46.5 gr of RL26, 0.020 off the lands. This load was showing ~0.6 - 0.75 moa on several different range trips.

Decided to try some different seating depths to see if I could get things any tighter (why not). This is where I seemed to run into trouble. Loading up the same exact load (as a control) showed dismal results on two different range trips. Nothing inside 1.5 MOA. Tried cleaning the bore with Butch's Bore Shine, then three foulers and very similar results.

I've checked action bolt torque, ring torque; nothing has changed. At this point I'm suspecting my brass is getting tired (5 loadings), but there are no outward signs of failure that I can see.

I'm at a loss for the sudden decrease in accuracy and was wondering if any of you folks have experienced something similar? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

P.S. The rifle has (maybe?) 500 rounds through it so I'm not suspicious of a worn out barrel.

Thanks a ton in advance!

40ce826798398f97116cc9fd93be4e3c.jpg
246909bf8c2c6f52885adeccd691c9ac.jpg

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

you need a chronograph. You have to know what the bullet is doing. Usually they speed up. I have had to drop almost 1 grain of powder to get a load back to shooting well. Also temperature will affect RL 26 more than the other touted temp stable powders.

In my limited experience the group depends on the fps more than anything else.

OP
Xringer07

Xringer07

Lil-Rokslider
you need a chronograph. You have to know what the bullet is doing. Usually they speed up. I have had to drop almost 1 grain of powder to get a load back to shooting well. Also temperature will affect RL 26 more than the other touted temp stable powders.